top of page

The New Election Commissioner: Rajiv Kumar

Former Finance Secretary Mr. Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as the new Election Commissioner according to the notification of The Ministry Of Law And Justice on 21st August, 2020.

Rajiv Kumar, Source: Twitter

Mr. Kumar will take charge as the Election Commissioner after Mr. Ashok Lavasa leaves his office on August 31. The outgoing Election Commissioner, Ashok Lavasa had resigned as Election Commissioner on 19th August, 2020 to join Philippines based Asian Development Bank as its Vice President next month.

Mr Kumar is a retired IAS officer of the 1984 batch from Jharkhand Cadre. He holds an experience of more than 30 years in public policy and administration in various sectors. Along with a Bachelor in Science and Bachelor in Law, he also has a Master degree in Public Policy and Sustainability.

Apart from being a retired officer, Mr Kumar was also appointed as the Finance Secretary in July last year. His tenure ended in February, 2020. He is a hardworking man who has also worked for Prime Minister Narendra Modi's plan of financial inclusion , through flagship schemes such as Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana and Mudra loan scheme.

The 59 year old is a lover of Indian Classical Music and an avid trekker. In April, he was appointed as the chairperson of the Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB).

"In pursuance of clause (2) of article 324 of the Constitution, the president is pleased to appoint Shri Rajiv Kumar, (IAS retired) as the election commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office vice Shri Ashok Lavasa, election commissioner who has resigned with effect August 31," Ministry Of Law And Justice.

While a lot of twitter users congratulated Mr. Kumar for his new assignment, concerns have been raised by many. Clearly showing that the people are expecting a lot and have high hopes from the newly appointed Election Commissioner.

bottom of page